Tom McClintock on Energy & Oil

2004 former Republican Challenger CA Governor

High-speed rail line is tremendous waste of taxpayer money

When the definitive history of California boondoggles is written, this one will loom above all others. You would think after the outrageously failed Los Angeles Metro Rail that we'd have learned our lessons. The bond now being proposed doesn't pay for the entire project -- $25 billion or so before we begin accounting for cost overruns. It is enough to suck us into this quagmire.
Source: State Senate website, www.sen.ca.gov, "Issues Directory" May 29, 2002

Californians are overpaying for energy

California officials committed consumers to long-term energy contracts at unprecedented prices. Californians are now paying an estimated $14 billion above the market price for this power - unnecessarily adding about $1,400 to an average consumer's electricity bill.
Source: State Senate website, www.sen.ca.gov, "Issues Directory" May 15, 2002

Gov. Davis responsible for energy overpricing

In January, the Governor declared that a cornerstone of his energy policy was to prevent utility bankruptcies. To do so, he substituted taxpayer funds for the utilities' capital - plunging the state into the power-buying business on behalf of those utilities.
Source: State Senate website, www.sen.ca.gov, "Issues Directory" May 15, 2002

Change in governorship required for energy recovery

Will Californians be locked into sky-high electricity prices for years to come? Without a fundamental change in California's current regime, the law's last line of defense is again the courts.
Source: State Senate website, www.sen.ca.gov, "Issues Directory" May 15, 2002

Other governors on Energy & Oil: Tom McClintock on other issues:
AK Frank Murkowski
AL Bob Riley
AR Mike Huckabee
AZ Janet Napolitano
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
CO Bill Owens
CT Jodi Rell
DE Ruth Ann Minner
FL Jeb Bush
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
IA Tom Vilsack
ID Dirk Kempthorne
IL Rod Blagojevich
IN Mitch Daniels
KS Kathleen Sebelius
KY Ernie Fletcher
LA Kathleen Blanco
MA Mitt Romney
MD Bob Ehrlich
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
MN Tim Pawlenty
MO Matt Blunt
MS Haley Barbour
MT Brian Schweitzer
NC Mike Easley
ND John Hoeven
NE Dave Heineman
NH John Lynch
NJ Jon Corzine
NM Bill Richardson
NV Kenny Guinn
NY George Pataki
OH Bob Taft
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Don Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
TX Rick Perry
UT Jon Huntsman
VA Tim Kaine
VT Jim Douglas
WA Christine Gregoire
WI Jim Doyle
WV Joe Manchin III
WY Dave Freudenthal
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...